Goodfellas

goodfellas.jpg

Genre: Gangster movie

Director: Martin Scorsese

Cast:  Ray Liotta,  Robert De Niro and Joe Pesci

Duration: 2h 26min

Rating: Really nice

After procrastinating for a very, very long time, I’ve finally decided to watch this movie. It took me a long time because, due to its importance in filmography, I felt I needed to find a special time in which I could concentrate and enjoy it without distractions. I must admit I am a bit embarrassed about the result. I really wanted to love the movie but I just liked it. I liked it a lot but that’s it.

The movie follows the rise and fall of a small gangster of New York (Liotta). The movie is thus populated by those stereotyped characters from the underworld that Scorsese portrays so well. In this case, Italian New Yorker mobsters nicely played by Liotta, De Niro, Pesci, Paul Sorvino and others. I found the movie very intense and interesting to watch. The plot is engaging and filled with action, the characters well depicted and has natural and nicely built dialogues (specially, when Pesci is around). However, I didn’t find anything that makes it truly special. Particularly, I couldn’t find those things I loved from the later Scorsese’s movies. I couldn’t find the over the top characters of The Wolf of Wall Street, the riveting story of The Departed nor the extreme violent world of Gangs of New York.

Don’t get me wrong. I really enjoyed Goodfellas and, particularly, I praise the chemistry of the Liotta-De Niro-Pesci tandem. But the movie didn’t dazzle me. Maybe I am missing something out and I should give another look at this Timeout’s article of why Godfellas is the most important movie of the 25 years.

4 thoughts on “Goodfellas

  1. One of my favorite movies ever, too 5 for sure. It is a character based movie so if you don’t like the characters then it won’t resonate with you. I personally enjoy watching bad people be bad people

    Like

Leave a Reply

